Knights Celebrate at Swords Awards

April 15, 2014

Photo Gallery

Twitter Logo Facebook Logo UCF Athletics Social Media Directory

By Noe Pickrell

ORLANDO, Fla. ( - On Monday evening, UCF student-athletes gathered at the CFE arena to celebrate a successful 2013-14 academic and athletic year. The Swords Awards banquet is an annual event which recognizes the student-athletes for their accomplishments on and off the field.

Each team had the opportunity to acknowledge individual student-athletes for their contributions: The Iron Award (selected by the strength and conditioning staff), Coaches Award, Newcomer Award, Scholar-Athlete Award and Most Valuable Player. Additional awards were presented to those individuals who made accomplishments when they weren't competing.

The Dr. Richard Lapchick Award, which measures both athletic and academic achievements, along with outstanding community service, was presented to Afia Charles (track & field) and Rodrigo Quirarte (football).

For accomplishments within the classroom, Sara Djassi (women's basketball) and Josh Reese (football) were each awarded the Bill Callarman Award, which is named after UCF's former NCAA Faculty Representative. Courtney Griffith (tennis) and Kyle Wilshire (golf) received the Scholar-Athlete award.

Women's and men's golf were recognized for having the highest GPA, while track and field went home with the Excalibur Cup Award, which encompasses great community service, leadership development, academic and athletic excellence, and the support and pride for their peers' events.

Six additional students were also honored for their impact on the teams from behind the scenes.

Manager of the Year
Stevie Adams (track & field)
Ryan Callaghan (football)

Video Student of the Year
Bobby Blankenship

Student Athletic Trainer of the Year
Chris Mings

Facilities & Event Operations Student of the Year
Naomie Joseph

Tutor of the Year
Joanna Keough

Highest Team GPA
Women's and Men's Golf

Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Courtney Griffith (tennis)
Kyle Wilshire (golf)

Dr. Bill Callarman Award
Sara Djassi (women's basketball)
Josh Reese (football)

Dr. Richard Lapchick Award
Afia Charles (track & field)
Rodrigo Quirarte (football)

Excalibur Cup Award
Track & Field

Newcomer Award
Derrick Salberg (baseball)
Justin McBride (men's basketball)
Brittni Montgomery (women's basketball)
Stephen Hood (cheer)
Ariel Ulanoff (Knight Moves)
Jacoby Glenn (football)
Linus Vaisanen (men's golf)
Ashley Holder (women's golf)
Fernando Laverde (men's soccer)
Lena Petermann (women's soccer)
Linnea Goodman (softball)
Inaki Espindola (men's tennis)
Cortney Cesarini (women's tennis)
Briana Vaughn (indoor track & field)
J'Nea Bellamy (outdoor track & field)
Jade Hayes (volleyball)

Iron Award
Tommy Williams (baseball)
Matt Williams (men's basketball)
Bryeasha Blair (women's basketball)
Jacob Serre (cheer)
Amelia Williams (cross country)
Olivia White (KnightMoves)
Brandon Alexander (football)
Linus Vaisanen (men's golf)
Paola Robles (women's golf)
Amy Compare (rowing)
Zach Biggs (men's soccer)
Kayla Darden (women's soccer)
Kahley Novak (softball)
Chris Barrus (men's tennis)
Courtney Griffith (women's tennis)
Afia Charles (track) and Allison Lampert (field)
Loren Cory (volleyball)

Coaches Award
Erik Barber (baseball)
Daiquan Walker (men's basketball)
Stephanie Taylor (women's basketball)
Jacob Serre (cheer)
Amelia Williams (cross country)
Caroline Kittinger (KnightMoves)
Rannell Hall (football)
Ricardo Gouveia (men's golf)
Kaitlyn Price (women's golf)
Mason Miller (men's soccer)
Marleigh Howard (women's soccer)
Kahley Novak (softball)
Chris Barrus (men's tennis)
Clare Mendell (women's tennis)
Kalen Hambrick (indoor track & field)
Erica Winston (outdoor track & field)
Ashley Gialenios (volleyball)

Eric Skoglund (baseball)
Isaiah Sykes (men's basketball)
Zykira Lewis (women's basketball)
Joel Wadzinski (cheer)
Anne-Marie Blaney (cross country)
Brittany Vasile (KnightMoves)
Blake Bortles (football)
Greg Eason (men's golf)
Fanny Cnops (women's golf)
Romario Williams (men's soccer)
Carleigh Williams (women's soccer)
Shelby Turnier (softball)
Francesc Aulina (men's tennis)
Destinee Romain (indoor track & field)
Afia Charles and Jen Clayton (outdoor track & field)
DeLaina Sarden (volleyball)

Fox 35 Reliable One