Rosters Set for Black and Gold World Series

Oct. 29, 2013

Twitter Logo Facebook Logo UCF Athletics Social Media Directory

By Andrew Jennette

ORLANDO, Fla. ( – A month of team workouts, drills and scrimmages comes to an end this week as the UCF baseball team will host its annual Black and Gold World Series on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday. On Tuesday, the coaches conducted their draft to determine the two squads that will go head-to-head in the three-day intrasquad event. 

Game times are scheduled for Wednesday and Thursday at 3 p.m., while game three will take place Friday at 6:30 with a true gameday atmosphere, including giveaways, prizes, and the introduction of the 2014 UCF Baseball Diamond Girls.

If the first two games are split, then the winner of the third game will be declared the champion. However if one team wins the first two contests, the team that is 0-2 can still win the title by winning game three by an amount of runs that is greater than the sum of the run differential of the first two games.

All three games will be six innings, and the Black team will bat eight players, while the Gold will bring nine to the plate. The designated home team will use the 1st base dugout. Gold will be the home squad in games one and three.

The 2013 edition of the World Series will see assistant coach Ryan Klosterman aiming for his third-consecutive series title as he looks to earn a three-peat against first-year volunteer assistant Kyle Sprague.

Gold (Coach Sprague) Black (Coach Klosterman)
Erik Barber Matt Diorio
Spencer Davis Zac Favre
Danny Dixon Kam Gellinger
Dalton Duty Bret Gordon
Drew Faintich Tyler Hayden
Joe Marotta Robby Howell
Tyler Martin Nathan Morris
Ryan Meyer (Bullpen Coach) Tanner Olson
Dylan Moore Kyle Perkins
Brooks Morgan Jarrod Petree (1st Base Coach)
Hayden Platt Zach Rodgers (Bench Coach)
Vinnie Rosace Derrick Salberg
Jordan Savinon (1st Base Coach) Eric Skoglund
Sam Tolleson Parker Thomas
Mitchell Tripp (Bench Coach) Trent Thompson (Bullpen Coach)
James Vasquez Tommy Williams
Eugene Vazquez JoMarcos Woods
Chad Whiteaker



Fox 35 Reliable One