Knights' Conference Schedule Pairings Announced

May 28, 2014

Twitter Logo Facebook Logo UCF Athletics Social Media Directory

By Dan Forcella

Related Content
+ The American Release 

KEY BISCAYNE, Fla. ( – The American Athletic Conference released details related to its men’s basketball schedule for the 2014-15 season on Wednesday, including which teams will play each other twice and which will play only once during the year.

With the departure of Louisville and Rutgers from the conference, and the addition of Tulsa, Tulane, and East Carolina, The American is now comprised of 11 teams.  The odd number of teams allows for each team to play eight of its 10 league opponents twice, and the other two just once to complete the 18-game schedule.

The two teams that UCF will only match up with once are UConn and Tulsa.  The Knights will travel to Connecticut to take on the defending national champion Huskies, and will host the Golden Hurricane in their first season in The American.

UCF will play home-and-home series with the rest of the league, which is comprised of Cincinnati, East Carolina, Houston, Memphis, USF, SMU, Temple, and Tulane.

The American also announced the dates for this season’s conference tournament.  Previously announced to be held in Hartford, Conn., at the XL Center, the 2015 American Athletic Conference Championship will take place Thursday, March 12 through Sunday, March 15.

More details surrounding UCF’s conference and non-conference schedule will be released later this summer.

To keep up with the UCF men’s basketball team on social media be sure to follow the Knights on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.