Major Honor



July 18, 2014

Twitter Logo Facebook Logo UCF Athletics Social Media Directory

By Brian Ormiston

ORLANDO, Fla. ( - The 15th and final National College Football Awards Association watch list was released Friday, with the Walter Camp Football Foundation announcing UCF linebacker Terrance Plummer was on its watch list for the 2014 Player of the Year.

There were 50 players selected to this year's list including five linebackers. The Walter Camp Award is the nation's fourth-oldest individual college football accolade, and is named after "The Father of American football" who first selected an All-America team in 1889 and was a former Yale University athlete and football coach. The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semifinalists in mid-November, and the recipient will be announced on Dec. 11.

Overall for UCF, the Knights had 12 selections to 10 of the 15 NCFAA watch lists. Four of those went to Plummer.

The 12 honors were the most among teams in the American Athletic Conference, and the 23rd most among all FBS programs.

Top 25 Schools with Most NCFAA Watch List Selections
1) Alabama 26
2) Stanford 25
3) Florida State 24
T4) Oregon 23
T4) USC 23
T6) Georgia 20
T6) Michigan State 20
T6) Texas 20
T9) Baylor 18
T9) Oklahoma 18
11) Duke 17
T12) Notre Dame 15
T12) TCU 15
T12) UCLA 15
T15) Auburn 14
T15) BYU 14
T15) Kansas State 14
T15) Ohio State 14
T15) Washington 14
T20) Clemson 13
T20) Michigan 13
T20) Ole Miss 13
23) UCF 12
T24) Arizona State 11
T24) Florida 11
T24) Fresno State 11
T24) Houston 11

UCF on Preseason Watch Lists
Clayton Geathers - *Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back) and CFPA Defensive Backs Trophy
Jacoby Glenn - *Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back)
Joey Grant - *Rimington Trophy (most outstanding center)
Rannell Hall - *Biletnikoff Award (most outstanding receiver), Paul Hornung Award (most versatile player) and CFPA Kickoff Returner Trophy
Shawn Moffitt - *Lou Groza Award (best placekicker) and CFPA Placekicker Trophy
Breshad Perriman - *Biletnikoff Award (most outstanding receiver) and CFPA Wide Receivers Trophy
Terrance Plummer - *Walter Camp Award (Player of the Year), *Bednarik Award (defensive player of the year), *Rotary Lombardi Award (lineman of the year), *Butkus Award (best linebacker) and CFPA Linebackers Trophy
William Stanback - *Doak Walker Award (best running back) and CFPA Running Backs Trophy
Torrian Wilson - *Outland Trophy (most outstanding interior lineman)
J.J. Worton - CFPA Punt Returners Trophy
*-NCFAA Awards

A graduate of Orange Park High School in Florida, Plummer jumped on to the college scene as a true freshman in 2011, starting one game at middle linebacker and recording 17 tackles behind starter Josh Linam. Then as a sophomore, he busted out for 108 tackles, seven tackles for loss and an interception.

As a junior in 2013, Plummer started making a name for himself nationally. Thanks to career-highs in every primary defensive category, he was voted on to the All-American Athletic Conference First Team, was the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl Defensive MVP and was a Honorable Mention All-American. Plummer completed the year with 110 tackles, 2.5 sacks, 8.5 tackles for loss, six break-ups, two interceptions and two forced fumbles.

For his career, Plummer has 235 tackles and 17.5 tackles for loss.

Plummer and the Knights have less than two weeks remaining before they open preseason camp July 31.

2014 Football Season Tickets: The March to Victory starts with UCF fans. Order season tickets, starting at $99, today online or call 407-UCF-1000. And to learn about the Croke Park Classic against Penn State Aug. 30 in Dublin, Ireland, check out



Fox 35 Reliable One