National Respect



Nov. 20, 2013

Twitter Logo Facebook Logo UCF Athletics Social Media Directory

By Brian Ormiston

ORLANDO, Fla. ( - Historic victories, nationwide publicity, a top-15 ranking and an 8-1 record. What a ride 2013 has been. And UCF head coach George O'Leary has been honored for the Knights' success as he was named a semifinalist for the Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year Award Wednesday.

The list of semifinalists includes 16 candidates which have been selected by the MFC National Selection Committee, and the field was announced by MFC President, Ron Jaworski.

It was the second accolade for Coach O'Leary this season as he was one of 20 members on The Paul Bear Bryant Coach of the Year Award Watch List announced Nov. 1.

Semifinalist voting for the Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year Award will begin on Nov. 21 and close Dec. 2. Finalist voting will take place from Dec. 3-15 and the winner will be announced Dec. 17. Eligible voters include MFC members, NCAA head football coaches, sports information directors and selected national media.

Coach O'Leary and his Knights are 5-0 in the American Athletic Conference with three games remaining, including two at home against Rutgers Thursday and USF Friday, Nov. 29. UCF has posted its first victory over a Big Ten team (Penn State) and a top-10 school (then-No. 8/6 Louisville) this year en route to being ranked No. 15 in the AP Top 25 Nov. 10.

In his 10th year at UCF in 2013, Coach O'Leary has led the Knights to being bowl eligible for the fourth time in the last five seasons.

Among his career accolades, Coach O'Leary is a five-time conference coach of the year (1998 and 2000 in the ACC and 2005, 2007 and 2010 in Conference USA), and was the 2000 Bobby Dodd National Coach of the Year as well as the 2005 and National Coach of the Year.

Plan your game days this fall with the Knights and experience one of the best schedules in program history. Order tickets today online or call 407-UCF-1000.

MFC Collegiate Coach of the Year Semifinalists
Nick Saban - Alabama
Gus Malzahn - Auburn
Art Briles - Baylor
Steve Addazio - Boston College
Dabo Swinney - Clemson
David Cutcliffe - Duke
Tim DeRuyter - Fresno State
Jimbo Fisher - Florida State
Mark Dantonio - Michigan State
Gary Pinkel - Missouri
Rod Carey - Northern Illinois
Urban Meyer - Ohio State
Mike Gundy - Oklahoma State
George O'Leary - UCF
Ed Orgeron - USC
Gary Anderson - Wisconsin



Fox 35 Reliable One