O'My O'Leary



Dec. 9, 2013

Twitter Logo Facebook Logo UCF Athletics Social Media Directory

By Brian Ormiston

ORLANDO, Fla. (UCFKnights.com) - Guiding UCF to its first BCS bowl berth and the American Athletic Conference outright title, head coach George O'Leary was selected as one of eight finalists for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award Monday. The list was announced by the Football Writers Association of American, in conjunction with the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl.

The finalists have been placed on a ballot to be sent to the entire FWAA membership. The winner will be revealed Dec. 16. The official presentation reception will be Jan. 4 in Newport Beach, Calif., where the winning coach will be given the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award.

2013 Honors for Head Coach George O'Leary
-Finalist for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year
-Semifinalist for the Maxwell Football Club Collegiate Coach of the Year
-The Paul Bear Bryant Coach of the Year Award Watch List

O'Leary has been a finalist for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award three times in his career, including 1998 while with Georgia Tech and 2005 during his second season with the Knights.

In his career, O'Leary was the 2000 Bobby Dodd National Coach of the Year and the 2005 SportsIllustrated.com and CBSSports.com National Coach of the Year. He also has received five conference coach of the year honors. O'Leary spent 1995-01 as the leader of the Yellow Jackets, while he is in his 10th season with the Knights.

In 2013, UCF (11-1) has tied a school record with 11 victories and went undefeated in conference play for the first time (8-0). It is currently ranked No. 15 in the Associated Press Top 25, the USA Today Coaches Poll and the BCS, all program-highs.

Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award Finalists
Art Briles, Baylor
David Cutcliffe, Duke
Mark Dantonio, Michigan State
Jimbo Fisher, Florida State
Gus Malzahn, Auburn
George O'Leary, UCF
Gary Pinkel, Missouri
David Shaw, Stanford

Both O'Leary and Briles will square off in the 2014 Tostitos Fiesta Bowl Jan. 1. The BCS National Championship Game (Florida State vs. Auburn) and the Rose Bowl Game (Michigan State vs. Stanford) also feature Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award finalists doing battle.

Tostitos Fiesta Bowl Ticket Information
-Tickets are on sale for fans looking to sit in great UCF sections at the University of Phoenix Stadium.
-Order Online
-Call the UCF Ticket Office at 407-UCF-1000.
-Visit UCF's Tostitos Fiesta Bowl Ticket Central Page.



Fox 35 Reliable One