Knights Wrap Up Qualifying for FAU Spring Break Championship



March 27, 2013

ORLANDO, Fla. ( -- The UCF men's golf team has completed its qualifying rounds for the 2013 FAU Spring Break Championship, which is slated to take place Friday and Saturday in Lake Worth, Fla.

The tournament will be held at The Fountains Country Club. Teams taking part include Florida Atlantic, Bethune Cookman, Connecticut, DePaul, Florida Gulf Coast, Hartford, Jacksonville State, Lafayette, Loyola of Chicago, McNeese State, Miami (Ohio), Morehead State, Murray State, Northern Illinois and Stetson.

Greg Eason, Ricardo Gouveia, Kyle Wilshire, Jose Joia and McCabe Buege will take part in the event for UCF. The Knights used four rounds of qualifying to determine the lineup for the FAU Spring Break Championship. Three rounds of qualifying were held at Northshore and one at Stoneybrook.

FAU Spring Break Championship Qualifying
  Mar. 20* Mar. 22 Mar. 25 Mar. 27 Total
McCabe Buege 27 (-1) 69 (-3) 79 (+7) 76 (+4) 251 (+7)
Michael Visacki 28 (E) 71 (-1) 76 (+4) 81 (+9) 256 (+12)
Rocco Russo 31 (+3) 78 (+6) 84 (+12) 79 (+7) 272 (+28)
Hojin Kang 28 (E) DQ 83 (+11) 77 (+5) DQ
Greg Eason 28 (E) 70 (-2) Match Play Match Play N/A
Ricardo Gouveia 29 (+1) 72 (E) Match Play Match Play N/A
Kyle Wilshire DNP 70 (-2) Match Play Match Play N/A
Jose Joia DNP 76 (+4) Match Play Match Play N/A

* - Round on March 20 was reduced to 7 holes, due to inclement weather.

Qualifying Criteria:


1. Greg Eason - Exempt based on finishing Top 25 at the John Hayt Invitational
2. Ricardo Gouveia - Exempt based on finishing Top 25 at the John Hayt Invitational
3. Kyle Wilshire - Exempt based on finishing Top 25 at the Schenkel Invitational
4. Jose Joia - Granted an exemption based on overall season performance

1 Low Scores
5. McCabe Buege - Finished first among non-exempt players in the qualifier for the FAU Spring Break Championship with a 61 hole total of 251 (+7)

Hojin Kang was disqualified from qualifying due to signing for an incorrect lower score on 3/22

Match Play
The match play tournament consisted of the four exempt players. The seeding was determined based on the qualifying scores from 3/22. On 3/25 Greg Eason beat Jose Joia 4 & 3 and Ricardo Gouveia beat Kyle Wilshire 2up. On 3/27, Greg Eason beat Ricardo Gouveia 1up to win the match play tournament. Also on 3/27 Jose Joia beat Kyle Wilshire 3 & 2 to win the consolation match.