Eason to Play in Sun Bowl Western Refining All-America Classic

Nov. 20, 2013

Twitter Logo Facebook Logo UCF Athletics Social Media Directory

By Andy Seeley

Orlando, Fla. (UCFKnights.com) — Twenty-one of the nation’s top collegiate golfers will make their way to El Paso when they take part in the 2013 Sun Bowl Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic on Nov. 23-26 at the El Paso Country Club.

“Western Refining is proud to team with the Sun Bowl Association in welcoming the nation’s finest college golfers to El Paso,” said Jeff Stevens, Western Refining CEO. “It is an honor to host one of the most prestigious college golf tournaments in the country. The quality of this year’s field is a testament to the hospitality of El Paso and the reputation of this event.”

The field includes 17 of the top 100 amateur golfers in the world, according to the World Amateur Golf Rankings. Included in the field will be UCF's Greg Eason, along with the top-ranked amateur, Cory Whitsett of Alabama, and the 2013 National Player of the Year, Michael Kim of California. 

Throughout the years, many Sun Bowl Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic competitors have gone on to pursue successful careers in the Professional Golfers’ Association of America and on the PGA Tour. Some of the past champions include Webb Simpson (2007), Ricky Barnes (2000), Notah Begay (1994), David Duval (1991), Matt Kuchar (1999), Davis Love III (1984), Chris Nallen (2003), Jerry Pate (1974), Nicholas Thompson (2004) and Tiger Woods (1995).

Alumni of the Golf Classic have gone on to earn more than $1.6 billion and win 617 events on the PGA Tour. In all, 145 colleges and universities have participated in the tournament, raising over $730,000 in scholarship money for the participating institutions.

Each university represented by the Western Refining College All-Americans will receive a $1,000 scholarship.



Fox 35 Reliable One