Campbell Wins Atlantic Sun Conference Women's Soccer Championship Over UCF In PKs

GO KNIGHTS Kendra Flock led the Golden Knights in goals for the season with 12.
Kendra Flock led the Golden Knights in goals for the season with 12.

Nov. 6, 2004

Box Score

BUIES CREEK, N.C. - Tournament MVP Erin Switalski made nine saves in the nets and Campbell University won the Atlantic Sun Conference Women's Soccer Championship Saturday night in penalty kicks after playing to a 0-0 draw with UCF through two overtime periods at the Eakes Athletic Complex.

Campbell, the A-Sun regular season and tournament champion, won the penalty shootout 3-1 to earn its first-ever trip to the NCAA Championship. Senior Lexie Wilson, who did not play in the 110-minute contest, clinched the shootout with her attempt that glanced off the right post and into the net.

Switalski tied her own school record with her ninth shutout of the season - and second of the tournament - as Campbell extended its unbeaten string to 17 games (11-0-6).

The senior goalkeeper from Brecksville, Ohio, steered away three shots in the extra sessions, including a one-on-one encounter in the first 15 seconds of overtime. Kendra Flock Calgary, (Alberta/Western Canada HS)broke free behind the Campbell defense following the kickoff, but Switalski dove to her right to push the ball past the left post.

Second-seeded UCF nearly ended the game in the first overtime period when Monique Fireall's (Kissimmee, Fla./Gateway HS) left-footed shot hit the left post in the 96th minute.

In the first round of the shootout, Switalski dove to her right to halt an effort from Courtney Baines (Indialantic, Fla./Satellite HS). Tracy Taddonio then converted for Campbell. After Becca Eshelman (Akron, Pa./Ephrata HS) netted her penalty attempt, Campbell's Tina Lindholdt also scored.

Both Shannon Wing (Gulf Breeze, Fla./Gulf Breeze HS) of UCF and Campbell's Hanna Wadefalk followed with misses off the right post before Flock missed the target wide right. Wilson, a native of Springfield, Va., who played in only seven games during the regular season, then struck the winning penalty for an insurmountable 3-1 margin.

Ironically, UCF won its eighth A-Sun title last year in a shootout (3-0) over Florida Atlantic. Campbell was playing in just its second A-Sun Championship final. In 1995 - CU's second year in the league - UCF defeated Campbell 1-0 on the same field in the conference championship match.



The three-time defending A-Sun tournament champion Golden Knights (16-3-2) held a 19-5 edge in shots, including a 7-0 margin in the 20 extra minutes. UCF was playing in its 10th A-Sun final in the last 11 years.

Both teams saw chances slip by in the first 45 minutes of play.

Switalski kept the game scoreless in the 30th minute. Eshelman slid a pass beyond the Camel defense to Jennifer Montgomery (Colton, Calif./Colton HS), but the three-time, first-team all-conference keeper dove to her left to make a one-handed save.

Just two minutes later Campbell senior Susan Persson was denied by the crossbar on her left-footed shot from 25 yards.

In the 35th minute, Allison Blagriff (Melbourne, Fla./Eau Gallie HS)whipped a left-footed cross into the Campbell box, but Flock could only send the ball over Switalski's bar after stretching inside the six-yard box. After 41 minutes, UCF's Wing headed Baines' corner kick off the right post.

UCF held a 5-3 edge in shots in the second half, but neither Switalski nor UCF keeper Julie Snaman (Burke, Va./Robinson Secondary) were tested while making two stops each in the period.

Top-seeded Campbell remained unbeaten (8-0-2) at home this year and did not trail this season at the Eakes Complex. The Camels defeated UCF 1-0 on Sept. 25. Saturday night's shutout was the team's 11th of the season, tying the school mark set by the 1995 club.

All-Tournament Team: Daniela Davila, D Jacksonville,Leeanna Woodworth, F Gardner-Webb, Allison Blagriff, MF UCF, Courtney Baines, MF UCF, Shannon Wing, MF UCF, Kendra Flock, F UCF, Danielle Hange, D Campbell, Tracy Taddonio, F Campbell, Susan Persson, F Campbell, Jamie Armstrong, MF Campbell, Erin Switalski (MVP), GK Campbell

Fox 35 Reliable One