Watch Out, World

Aug. 1, 2014

Twitter Logo Facebook Logo UCF Athletics Social Media Directory

By Jenna Marina

ORLANDO, Fla. ( - Sophomore forward Lena Petermann will soon travel to Canada to represent her country and UCF in the FIFA U-20 World Cup.

Petermann, a native of Otterndorf, Germany, was selected to the 21-member roster and will compete against Brazil, China and the United States during the group stage. The tournament is being held in Edmonton, Montreal, Moncton and Toronto from Aug. 5-24.

Germany's opening battle will be a rematch of the 2012 U-20 World Cup final against the U.S. in Japan. Petermann's current UCF teammates, Sophie Howard and Karoline Heinze, were a part of that silver medalist German team.

The opening matchup will air Aug. 5 on ESPNU and WatchESPN at 7 p.m. Germany will also face China (Aug. 8, 7 p.m.) and Brazil (Aug. 12, 4 p.m.) on ESPN3.

Should the squad advance to the championship game, Petermann will only miss UCF's season-opening weekend matchups at Florida Gulf Coast (Aug. 22) and home against Miami (Aug. 24) before returning to the reigning American Athletic Conference champions.

Petermann was an integral part of UCF's offense last season with eight goals and four assists to her name. She emerged as the American Athletic Conference Rookie of the Year and was named to the American All-Conference First Team, All-Rookie Team and All-Tournament Team. She helped the Knights clinch the league's regular season and tournament championship titles and was also part of a school-record 18-match unbeaten streak.

Petermann's national team resume includes appearances in the 2010 and 2011 UEFA Women's Under-17 Championships and the 2010 FIFA U17 Women's World Cup. She recently was called upon to join the U-20 team for the Six Nations Tournament in La Manga, Spain, this past March.

The 16 nations competing in the 2014 FIFA U-20 Women's World Cup are: host Canada; China PR, Korea DPR and Korea Republic from Asia; Ghana and Nigeria from Africa; Germany, Finland, France and England from Europe; the USA, Mexico and Costa Rica from CONCACAF; Brazil and Paraguay from South America; and New Zealand from Oceania.



Fox 35 Reliable One